Quote of the day: “Is there such a thing as ‘taint’ in the law?”

January 4, 2008

CNN’s Don Lemon talks with Senate-appointee Roland Burris.

BURRIS: I am the duly-appointed, legally appointed US Senator from the state of Illinois. And I certainly expect that the senators will recognize that and not deny Illinois it’s legal representation as we get underway in this 111th Congress. It is my hope and prayer that they will have certainly got the message that what the governor has done, regardless of his problems, they’re not my problems.

There’s no taint on me. He has carried out his constitutional duty and found the person most qualified to fill that vacancy and that’s what he’s done.

I’ve spent twenty years in Illinois government. I know this state, I know the people, and I know the problems. I am ready, willing, and able to learn my process in the Senate to certainly hit the ground running to represent the 13 million people of this great state.

LEMON: You are aware of Illinois politics and often times there is guilt by association. You know that. And you don’t think that by the governor appointing you that there would be some guilt or some taint on you simply because of the controversy that he has found himself in?

BURRIS: Don, is there such things as “taint” in the law?

I am former Attorney General and I never read anywhere in the statute that said if the governor is having some type of serious legal problems that he cannot carry out his constitutional duties. Someone show me that and I will be convinced that there might be something that would impact my ability to serve and to be effective for the people of Illinois. I don’t think that’s possible.

LEMON talks about how he spoke with Illinois Senate President, Emil Jones (barry’s senator maker) who supports Burris, but that there are many leaders, including African Americans, who do not. Do you understand their position?

BURRIS: I respect their positions, but I don’t agree with them. What is there to understand? I will ask anyone: Does the governor of this state have the legal authority to make the appointment? And the answer to that is yes. Secondly, am I qualified. Do I meet the constitutional requirement to serve in the US Senate? I do.

There is no such other criteria – other then people got their own private agendas that they may be, in turn, seeking to foster or bring forth.

LEMON: You know the law very well–very well, sir. How far do you plan to take this and do you see any-is there any point or anywhere in the law that you see that you cannot be appointed? Do you plan to take this to the very end and do you see that this is legally possible for you to, in fact, become the senator from Illinois?

BURRIS: Don, I am the senator…I am the senator.

LEMON: Okay.

BURRIS: And the next step is for the United States senate to do its constitutional duty and not disenfranchise the 13 million people of Illinois and have us to be shorthanded with all these crises that are coming down around our state and our nation and Illinois will not be fully represented in the senate. That’s the reason why I took this seat. Because I wanted our people in this state to have a voice there speaking on their behalf as we try to tackle the major crises that are confronting Illinois and America.

LEMON: So you’re up for the challenge?

BURRIS: I am definitely – can you hear it in my voice, Don? I don’t want to get too emotional here, but I’m ready. You known..[laughter in the background] I’m ready!

If we’re not seated, then we’ll have to take the next step.

Would they be fighting like this if it was about barry? It is insane – the hypocrisy of it all.

Folks, at this point, it has nothing to do with the Illinois senate seat. Roland Burris is more than qualified – more so than barry was. It is the Illinois legislature using it to get rid of Blagojevich. Blagojevich has not been indicted nor has he been found guilty of any wrongdoing. People seem to forget that minor fact. He talked on the phone and make a lot of bleeping stupid bleeping statements but barry’s own camp exonerated him by exonerating themselves. Can’t have it both ways…not even barry. There is absolutely no reason for Burris not to fight this. And at this point, from what is known, there is no absolutely reason for him to not be appointed.

Period.

Leave a comment