barry on The View: No taxes < 75K – doesn't even mention the economy

March 28, 2008
barry & the viewbots

PART 1

BARBARA SAYS HE’S SEXY

All videos courtesy of kimktb

PART 2

WRIGHT JUSTIFICATION

Ms Walters brings up barry’s comments about Imus.

BARRY: There’s nobody on my staff who would still be working for me if they made a comment like that about anybody or any ethnic group.

WALTERS: What’s the difference?

BARRY:

Two things: Rev Wright is retired – he is no longer the pastor of the church.

He says it’s a 99% white denomination, which matters none because barry isn’t going to other churches.

BARRY:

I never heard him say SOME of the things that I know have upset people…

I’m not vetting my pastor. I didn’t have a research team during the course of these 20 years go pull every sermon that he’s given and see if he’s said something.

The statements that were made were rightly [Wrightly] offensive. I actually think that some of them were offensive less in terms of race and more in terms of their characterization of America.

…I think a brilliant man who was still caught in a time warp…and had a sense of what America was and didn’t have a good enough sense of how it had changed.

It doesn’t excuse, but it explains some of these statements.

But it doesn’t explain why he went back after he knew of wright’s statements and of course Walters lets him off the hook.

MS WALTERS:

Had the reverend not retired, were he still there, would you then have left the church or have said ‘and said I just can’t have anything to do with him?

BARRY:

Had the reverend not retired, and had he not acknowledged that what he had said had deeply offended people and were inappropriate and mischaracterized what I believe is the greatness of this country, for all its flaws, then I wouldn’t have felt comfortable staying there at the church.

Elisabeth brings up his 2004 Democratic Convention speech and barry says:

That was a pretty good speech.

PART 3

DOESN’T MENTION THE ECONOMY IN TOP THREE ISSUES

WHOOPI:

What are the first three things you are going to do if you are elected president?

BARRY:

1-Call in joints Chiefs of Staff….and give them a new mission, which is to responsibly and honorably begin a withdrawl from Iraq. I want us to be as careful getting out as we were careless going in. I want our troops protected. I want Iraq to be stable.

2- Put forward legislation that would give every American healthcare.

3-I really think we’ve got to deal with our energy crisis.

If we do those three things I think we can back on track.

NO MENTION OF THE ECONOMY OR FINANCIAL CRISIS IN TOP THREE.

Then he adds:

There may some some crisis management that has to be down first when I take office. But as far as broad priorities go, that’s the direction I want to go.

Then he talks about his “toughness”.

I think that the way to handle attacks — wherever they’re coming from– and you know there have been some tough punches thrown here in this democratic primary. I mean it’s not like I’ve been taking a cake walk during this primary.

The way I like to handle attacks is to answer honestly, swiftly, forcefully and truthfully. I think the truth is a powerful weapon. And when you say what you really believe, and you don’t exaggerate, and you don’t try to respond to attacks by doing the same thing to other folks that they’re a doing to you, it can actually be disarming.

Take the high road.

And a lot of times, one of the ways I have been able to forge a lot of good relationships with Republicans some of the most conservative in the senate is actually I listen to them.

WALTERS:

Will your wife sit in on your Cabinet meetings?

BARRY:

NO. She doesn’t want to because – Michelle is as talented a person as I know – and everybody knows now that she’s a better speaker than I am – but, she’s very clear about her priorities. And her biggest priorities are our two children. And she wants to first of all be a good parent. I think she’s gonna find projects, if she has the opportunity to be first lady, that will contribute to making sure that children are happy and healthy and thriving.

But she doesn’t have a burning desire to be a sort of a policymaker on a day-to-day basis.

That’s not her character and where her passions lie.

PART 4

ELISABETH WANTS TO KNOW ABOUT HER TAXES
SHERRI WANTS TO KNOW ABOUT CAMPAIGN TACTICS
BARBARA — FEDERAL HELP FOR PEOPLE LOSING THEIR HOMES

SHERRI sucks up and questions the “dirtiness” of the campaign.

BARRY:

I don’t think it’s gotten dirty. I think it has gotten contentious – sometimes with our surrogates….our supporters are very passionate and they say things – the press loves when people say crazy stuff…. and then that contributes to the sense of BITTERNESS.

The truth is, look, Senator Clinton is a bright dedicated public servant. She was my friend before this contest started and she’s gonna be my friend after this contest ends.

What I’m absolutely convinced of is that once we’re all done, the Democrats will come together, that they will have a nominee they can be proud of and who’s going to work on their behalf.

I trust that I’m gonna be able to [applause and laughter and smug smile–he puts out his hand (1:45) to shut up Elisabeth] Here’s what I was gonna say Elisabeth. After I beat John McCain – I am not one who believes the democrats have a monopoly on wisdom. I come from the Land of Lincoln.

I’ve got some very strong views on how we need to move this country, but I don’t presume I’m right all the time. I want to listen to people – something that I think our current president hasn’t done – get a diversity of opinion. And the one thing I’m convinced of as I travel around this country is we have so much more in common than what drives up apart...

But that is not what he is focusing on each time he points put he doesn’t look like the faces on the dollar bills. Neither does “Hillary” but you’ve never once heard her say it – and if she did she would be crucified.

ELISABETH: (3:13)

What about the economy?  Talk about taxes. How are you gonna handle taxes?

barry makes a joke about him not liking to pay taxes.

BARRY:

I WANT TO CUT TAXES FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE MAKING THAN 75K A YEAR OR LESS.…Those of us who can afford to pay a little more pay a little more – those of us who need more help will pay less.

They Sherri makes a joke and Walters having to pay more.

Anyone who doesn’t believe their taxes won’t go up, are more than beyond delusional. It’s just a matter of whether he does it before or after he tries to get healthcare through.

Leave a Reply

