David Letterman: “Joaquin, sorry you couldn’t be here tonite”

February 12, 2009

Now this was one weirded out interview. Joaquin Phoenix was supposed to be promoting his new movie but he couldn’t set up the clip or even remember who is co-star was – Gwyneth Paltrow. At first I thought he was preparing for a new role as the Unabomber Ted Kaczynski with his unkempt hair and beard and dark sunglasses. All he was missing was the grey hooded sweatshirt.

I couldn’t believe when Dave came right out and said: What can you tell us about your days with the Unabomber?

Phoenix: A stare and a little smile.

Dave: Here’s my hope that after some time off (he’s working on his hip hop music), and I think you’re taking a little time off tonite – I’m hopeful you’ll come back to acting because there’s no one better.

….

Dave: What will you do now?

Phoenix: I’ve been working on my music.

Dave asked him if it’s like the music in “Walk the Line”.

Phoenix: No. No. I do hip hop music.

Phoenix: What do you – what do you have them (the audience) on?

Dave: I’m sorry. I’m sorry – what did you say?

Phoenix: What do you gas them up with? Is nitrous kicking around…

[Sean Combs said in an interview that Phoenix acts that way when he’s with him. Evidently they are working together.]

Dave: Have any fun stories to tell us?

Phoenix: Blank stare and shakes his head.

Dave turns his head and giggles.

Dave asks him to set up the clip and Paul starts laughing.

Phoenix: You’re doing fine.

Dave: Thanks. High praise coming from you.

Phoenix: Unintelligible. He meant what’s going on.

Dave: We’re just having fun here.

Phoenix starts pumping his leg, staring at Dave: That’s fun?

Dave: I’ll come to your house and chew gum.

Phoenix: Ok, I don’ have to. Takes it our and sticks it under the desk and puts his hands up. I won’t have to chew the gum.

Dave: No, just relax.

Dave: And Joaquin, sorry you couldn’t be here tonite.

Phoenix actually smiles. He’s funny. He’s funny. He’s a funny dude.

I found this all very sad considering how his brother River died. I hope he’s gotten someone’s attention.

Leave a comment