Flight 1549: Flight Attendants honored by Union

Flight 1549 Flight Attendants: Sheila Dail, Donna Dent, and Doreen Welsh were honored for “just doing their job” in evacuating the plane. They received the C.B. Lansing Award for Heroism – an award established in 1988 in the name of a deceased flight attendant and has only been bestowed 4 other times.

Flight 1549 crew posts

March 31, 2009

Press Release from the Association of Flight Attendants-CWA website

Association of Flight Attendants-CWA Bestows Honor on US Airways 1549 Flight Attendants

Milwaukee, WI – The Association of Flight Attendants-CWA (AFA-CWA) held a ceremony today honoring the three flight attendants who successfully evacuated over 150 passengers of US Airways Flight 1549 after a water landing in the Hudson River. At the annual AFA-CWA Board of Directors meeting, the C.B. Lansing Award for Heroism was presented to Sheila Dail, Donna Dent, and Doreen Welsh.

“It is an honor to present our most prestigious award for heroism to three AFA-CWA flight attendants who utilized their experience, knowledge and training to ensure the survival of all souls aboard, including passengers with mobility challenges, children and other special needs passengers,” said Veda Shook, AFA-CWA International Vice President. “Passengers and their colleagues have praised the professionalism of Sheila, Donna and Doreen and America has adopted them as their heroes. Today we honor them on behalf of over 50,000 flight attendants at major, national, charter and regional carriers across the country.”

The C. B. Lansing Memorial Award was established following the tragic and heroic events aboard Aloha Airlines Flight 243 on April 28, 1988. Aloha flight attendants faced a sudden and serious aircraft incident. C.B. Lansing did not survive the incident; however her fellow flight attendants persevered, rendering life-saving first aid in-flight as they planned for an emergency landing.

“Sheila, Donna and Doreen have long known the importance of the flight attendant profession. As their colleagues, we also know how vital our role is as safety professionals, but because of events on January 15, now the world knows that flight attendants as safety professionals go hand in hand,” said Mike Flores, AFA-CWA US Airways President.

The award is not an annual presentation and is presented to a crew or crewmember who displays heroism beyond the call of duty. There have been four prior recipients in the history of AFA-CWA who have received this honor. Sheila, Donna and Doreen are Charlotte, North Carolina based AFA-CWA members.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s