Flight 1549 passenger book: Miracle on the Hudson

November 15, 2009

Flight 1549 posts

Four of the passengers from Flight 1549 were on the Early Show pushing the new book: Miracle on the Hudson.

In it, 118 passengers discuss their experiences that day.

Two passengers are now dating.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

[hand transcribed]

EILEEN SHLEFFAR:

When I heard that boom, I yelled out to my dad who is my guardian angel. I said, ‘Dad can ya help us here?’ And when we hit, I really felt like there were hands under the plane that had just stopped us from perishing.

One day, someone came in my office and said, ‘So how are you doing?’ And I said, ‘You know I’m struggling with this thing in the pit of my stomach. It’s anxiety, I can’t find peace in there, I can’t find my happy place, and he said, ‘Well you should go someplace happy, like the happiest place on earth. And I said: ‘Disneyworld.’

I got to spend three day screaming my head off. I got rid that. I got rid of the hysteria, and you know what? No one knew. Everyone was screaming, and no one knew that my screams were coming from a completely different place.

LAURA ZYCH:

I had just moved to Charlotte a month earlier and I thought, ‘Wow, I think I’m going to die alone’.

BEN BOSTIC:

Actually I noticed her at the airport anf I thought maybe she’s on my flight. I boarded, and I got a book out, and there she was coming down the aisle, (I thought) hopefully she’ll sit beside me, so just like always, she sits somewhere else and, you know, typically I’d probably never see her again.

LAURA ZYCH:

We officially met at our 6 month anniversary party. One of the other passengers said, ‘Hey, good to see you, Laura, have you met Ben?’ I walked up and we hugged each other because that’s what we always do, we hug each other like we’ve known each other for 20 years.

I think it was the second time we hung out we danced – and  every single day we hang out we do that. That’s kind of our ritual – to play some song.

BEN BOSTIC:

No matter where we’re at, whatever we’re doing, we always end up dancing somewhere.

PAM SEAGLE:

When you go through something like that you can’t help but re-examine everything in your life. One of the things that became apparent was that the relationship with my family – my parents and my sister- she’s my only sibling – we‘re very close, however, we weren’t always very good at articulating that.

We has a long talk – we talked about what might have been had I not survived. The irony is that she passed in June very unexpectedly of a massive brain aneurysm. My parents had thought they had lost one daughter only to lose the other within six months almost to the day.

I did have a chance to tell Captain Sullenberger this recently. I told him he gave us a gift that day.

BEN BOSTIC:

For me, it really starts with just extreme gratitude. I could tell Sully thank you every day of my life, obviously, very grateful for meeting her.

EILEEN SHLEFFAR:

When I say I’m happy to be here, I really mean it.

Leave a Reply

