Sakineh Ashtiani: “I’m afraid of dying. Help me stay alive and hug my children”

Aug 6 “Don’t let them stone me in front of my son”

July 31, 2010

Ashtiani posts
Brazil’s president offers Ashtiani asylumIran rejects offer
Sajjad Ashtiani pleads for his mother’s life

Yesterday, Mina Ahadi, Coordinator of the International Committee against Executions and International Committee against Stoning, held a press conference in London concerning the impending execution of Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani.

Ms Ahadi read aloud the latest message from Ms Ashtiani:

I’m Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani.  From Tabriz Prison I thank all those who are thinking of me.

I went to school until the 5th grade.  After I was married I had two children, and all my hopes are on them.

I am now quiet and sad because a part of my heart is frozen.

The day I was flogged in front of [my son] Sajjad, I was crushed and my dignity and heart were broken.

The day I was given the stoning sentence, it was as if I fell into a deep hole and I lost consciousness.

Many nights, before sleeping, I think to myself how can anybody be prepared to throw stones at me; to aim at my face and hands?

Why?

I thank all of you from Tabriz Prison.

Mrs Ahadi, tell everyone that I’m afraid of dying.

Help me stay alive and hug my children.

FARSI

Dear God please intervene in this madness.

-Iran Solidarity Spokesperson Maryam Namazie “referred to a new report published by the International Committee against Executions which has found that over 100 people have been stoned with 25 known cases currently awaiting death by stoning in Iran.”

25 more people waiting to be stoned to death in the stone age country that wants to acquire nuclear technology.

Save Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani Campaign
International Committee Against Executions
International Committee Against Stoning
Iran Solidarity
Links to Facebook and petitions

Leave a Reply

