Chris Matthews: “This president is not acting like Commander in Chief”

May 27, 2010

BP Logo.svg

DAY 38

BP posts

LIVE FEED

CHRIS MATTHEWS is continuing to speak out against barry. First he let loose on Jay Leno (“When is [barry] actually going to DO something?”) and today he was on Andrea Mitchell to cover barry’s press conference. He talked about how precious US land is and how manmade problems should be solveable by man – the key being DOing something.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

MATTHEWS: This is one of the wonderful things that we hope will always be here – the Gulf of Mexico – more important than the presidency.

This president has not acted that way.

He has not acted like this is more important than something else – like a fundraiser in California or an interview about basketball with Marv Albert.

He doesn’t seem to be taking ownership.

Presidents must seize control when something like this happens….This is big time and he hasn’t acted like it’s big time.

Not on the clip.

MATTHEWS: Why do we keep treating this like a BP business problem when it’s affecting our very society and our continent? We’re treating it lik a lower grade problem than it is.

It’s clear to me: This president is not acting like Commander in Chief.

I don’t know where Rahm Emanuel is – I don’t know where the whole chain of command is. I don’t see a chain of command. I don’t sense it’s wartime conditions – at all. I know that Rahm has a family matter this week,

but all through this time I have not sensed that this president has been chief executive.

And if I hear one more time that Secretary Chu has a Nobel Prize, I’m gonna barf. I don’t care.

This sense of idiotic, cerebral meritocracy has got to step aside and let people who DO things take over, and that means taking command as Commander in Chief.

Leave a comment